Published On: Thu, Jan 10th, 2013

The Democratic Journey of Pakistan

In an address and discussion, Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar of Pakistan will answer the most vexing questions facing the U.S. and South Asia. Can Pakistan win its struggle against violent extremism? At the moment, the answer is far from clear. The already vulnerable region runs the risk of a further security degradation as NATO and U.S. forces withdraw from Afghanistan in 2014. As the U.S. public becomes increasingly impatient with respect to the Afghanistan conflict, how can Pakistan’s government effectively clamp down on extremist elements within its own borders, while also keeping diplomatic channels with the U.S. and other global powers open?

The discussion with Foreign Minister Khar will be moderated by Joe Klein, political columnist for Time.

 

Pakistani Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani KharForeign Minister Khar, who is a businesswoman by profession, hails from one of the least-developed parts of Pakistan. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Economics from Lahore University of Management Sciences and obtained a Master of Science degree in Business Management from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. She became Minster of Foreign Affairs in 2011.

 

 

Joe KleinIn addition to being Time‘s political columnist, Joe Klein is author of six books, most recently Politics Lost. His weekly Time column, “In the Arena,” covers national and international affairs. In 2004 he won the National Headliner Award for best magazine column.

 

 

Asia: Beyond the Headlines is a series of conversations with leading policymakers and thought leaders about the critical issues facing the United States and Asia.

Can’t make it to this program? Tune in to AsiaSociety.org/Live at 6:30 pm ET for a free live video webcast. Viewers are encouraged to submit questions to moderator@asiasociety.org.

Local viewing times:

Los Angeles/San Francisco: 3:30 pm
Houston: 5:30 pm
New York: 6:30 pm
Mumbai: 5 am
 (Tue., Jan. 16)
Hong Kong: 7:30 am (Tue., Jan. 16)
Manila: 7:30 am (Tue., Jan. 16)
Seoul: 8:30 am (Tue., Jan. 16)
Sydney: 10:30 am (Tue., Jan. 16)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>